Resource Oriented Computing

I’m just reading through a pdf I found on my desktop. I have no idea where it came from, but it’s an interesting read. I’ve attached it.

It’s a document by 1060 Research on “Resource Oriented Computing”, and a sales pitch for their product “NetKernel”, but don’t let that put you off.

The idea that pops out of this document is that web + REST = an environment for creating programs. That’s interesting, especially as services are more and more often created as separate entities, primed for mashing with others.

They talk about URI’s being able to act on resources in such a way, so that:

active:random+min@10+max@100

is an identifier which says compute “random(10, 100)”. This sounds cool, until you think about it. Hence the view from Nic Ferrier:

I have to say, I don’t believe this is important. For URIs to exhibit
these traits we have to build a bunch of tools. And once we have the
tools it turns out that it doesn’t much matter about extensibility
because the tools will still work thanks to meta data.

In the light of the way the web is working out, we might be able to realise 1060’s vision without needing anything other than http://. That’s probably not a good thing for 1060 Research’s NetKernel… I’m not sure about the details of this, but I think it is interesting enough to warrant posting about.

