New TiddlyWiki plugin: Freebase integration

I’ve just put up a TiddlyWiki containing an explanation and demo of my latest plugin, which provides a visual interface for querying and writing to the Freebase database.

The idea with this is to provide an easy way for TiddlyWikis to communicate with Freebase, an online contextual encyclopedia, and in general with other non-TiddlyWiki storage mediums. As Phil Hawksworth pointed out as I was showing this to him today, it’s easy to imagine wanting TiddlyWiki to act as a window onto and into data that is stored, maintained and added to in other places.

The link to the demo is:

http://jonny.jonathan.googlepages.com/freebasedemo.html

2 Comments

  1. Posted August 17, 2007 at 5:32 am | Permalink

    Hi, this is very cool idea.

    Just tried it with FF2 on a Mac and I get
    Failed HTTP request
    Error: Permission denied to call method XMLHttpRequest.open

    With Safari I get ‘Logged in as hamstersoup’

    Do you already have some tiddlers that demo reading and writing?

    It would be very cool if you could edit MJT code inside a tiddler to embed a table of live data from Freebase.

    nice work,
    –Will

  2. Posted August 20, 2007 at 2:20 pm | Permalink

    Will,

    Thanks for the response. I’ll have a look into this – I’m using FF2.0.0.6 on mac and it works… I’ve had a report that it doesn’t work on IE either – so much for cross-browser testing! Oops…