The Germans got there first… mobile queue service

I’m in Berlin at the moment, which is an impressive city I think. No-one can criticise the Berliners for not being ambitious with their architecture.

One of the places I visited today was Berlin’s Neue Nationalgalerie. Incredibly, they operate a queueing service very much along the same lines as one that some of us were talking about in the office on Tuesday. Namely, the idea was that people could be saved a whole load of the inconvenience of queueing if you could use text-messaging to get into the queue, and then be notified when you’re getting close to the front. In the mean-time, you could pop off for a coffee, wander around the permanent collections, go shopping or anything else.

The Neue Nationalgalerie operates something almost identical to this, except that you register your position in the queue by buying a ticket rather than sending in a message. I have a rather splendid montage of myself looking flabber-gasted by the poster explaining all about this, but due to the terrible trouble of getting a picture off my phone and onto the web via my Vodafone account, that’s going to have to wait till I get back to post that. Worth the wait no doubt…

Back to the drawing board, eh, Osmosoft?

