TiddlyWiki on the XO-1 (OLPC laptop)

Jeremy and I took some time out with Jim Gettys today to have a look at another couple of development builds of the XO-1 (aka the One Laptop Per Child laptop).

We were pretty astonished to find that we could load a TiddlyWiki off a USB stick and into the XO’s browser and it worked fine. We could even save changes back to the stick, which is pretty neat.

A google blog search for “tiddlywiki education” returns lots of results – the fact that TiddlyWiki runs on the XO is pretty cool for anyone interested in the intersection of software, TiddlyWiki and education in the developing world.

Photos on Flickr.

2 Comments

  1. I wasn't at your Perc%nto presentation
    Posted September 12, 2007 at 5:26 pm | Permalink

    hey, I’m interested in playing about with TiddlyWiki but i have the obligatory “cant save” problem, I’m running Safari 3.03 on OS 10.4.10… I guess now I know why u guys use wordpress!

  2. Posted September 15, 2007 at 7:28 am | Permalink

    So like… find a way to hang on to that until Wednesday!

    As an side, the educational uses of TiddlyWiki is my major focus these days.