Off on holiday – but first, a RippleRap update!

At this time tomorrow I’ll be on a plane, bound for Romania. This is deeply exciting. I haven’t been on holiday for more than a week for ages, and I’m looking forward to spending two weeks wandering around some strange places in Eastern Europe. I’ll be dropping into Bucharest, Istanbul, Warsaw and Moscow before jetting over to Paris for Le Web 3 in December. Can’t wait.

But first! An update. Things have been a little quiet on this blog for a week or so, which is because I’ve been cramming in as much coding time as possible, getting RippleRap (née TiddleLeWeb) to the point where it essentially works. Six of us Osmosoftonians spent Monday to Wednesday this week in an appropriately-titled “Hot House” – essentially a sweat-shop masquerading as an innovation factory, but damn good for getting code cut.

Things are going to get exciting over the next two weeks as we (I’ll be there in spirit) prepare for the launch at Le Web. The development so far is being tracked in something of an experimental way over on TiddlySpot and Phil Whitehouse (aka Casablanca) is keeping the updates coming.

I’m going to try sharing my photos for once while I’m away, so watch this space. See you on the other side.

6 Comments

  1. Posted November 22, 2007 at 10:37 pm | Permalink

    “appropriately-titled “Hot House”” – it was bloody hot in there wasn’t it!?

    Have a good trip.

  2. FND
    Posted November 22, 2007 at 10:56 pm | Permalink

    Have a good trip!

  3. Posted November 23, 2007 at 12:16 pm | Permalink

    Hope you have a terrific time. Eastern europe can be quite an experience. A lot of beauty in that part of the world… I lived in Warsaw for a year! How long are you going to be there? A trip out to Krakow is a must, even for a day, if you have the time. Hit me up if you want some pointers on what to do and not do in Warsaw!

  4. Posted November 23, 2007 at 1:49 pm | Permalink

    Thanks Saq, Robbie and FND!

    Krakow, Saq? I’ll try and persuade my host to take us out there. What’s your top tip for Warsaw??

  5. Posted November 24, 2007 at 3:48 am | Permalink

    I like the sweatshop reference but I don’t know about ‘cutting code’ you need the pure stuff or the Columbians will be after you. Enjoy the travels, will use the time to get up to date with your ideas.

    PS. Check out the shiny new tiddlyspot page, you need to migrate so we can TiddlyChatter. Linky Linky

    BenJam

  6. Posted November 24, 2007 at 3:52 am | Permalink

    PPS yes… i do suffer from massive bouts of ‘idea insomnia’ too much thinking I think… ahh, there it goes again!

    BenJam