Yahoo! Fire Eagle and location deduping

Fire Eagle launched to developers yesterday. I’ve been keeping my fingers crossed that it is going to provide the location deduping I want for the mobile city review service I’ve been building. The idea behind this is to get people reviewing bars or restaurants by sending mini-reviews via text, which include their location. The downside of relying on this manual approach for feeding in location information is that I need to resolve different references to locations into one. When I heard about Fire Eagle, I reckoned on this being a prime candidate to help me out.

Checking out the developer docs, I’m very happy to hear that:

“Fire Eagle provides a few other API methods that developers can use to disambiguate the names of locations”.

Awesomeness. Now to see if it works…

Update: FireEagle uses the same geocoding as Yahoo! Local, so you may as well just use that for deduping.

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 18, 2008 at 1:07 pm | Permalink

    I work am the founder of a starter in this space
    http://localhero.biz/

    and I must say why would I bother with Fire Eagle. Servers can already guess location and moreover I think we will move to a system where user agents have an location disclosure opt in built in.

    iN which case why use a third party

  2. Posted March 18, 2008 at 2:53 pm | Permalink

    Hi LocalHero, thanks for the comment. You might bother with Fire Eagle to help people who submit articles to your site have their location detected automatically. I can see value in a system that aims to give the “best guess” of what a location string really refers to. Deduplication with location is really tricky – if you have some suggestions, I’d love to hear about them.

    J.