Idiocy in Somerset

I don’t like stereotypes. Having said that, while I was in beautiful Wells, Somerset for a wedding this weekend, I happened upon some unusual incidents of carelessness, which may or may not be evidence of an over-consumption of scrumpy.

1. The most useless ‘In Use’ indicator in the world

At what point could a prospective hand-dryer user look over at this dryer and not establish its in-use state from a) the man standing in front of it or b) the air blasting out?

2. First Bus invent new words

I do apologise if the lighting makes this difficult to read, so here is a transcript – can you see the deliberate mistake?

“up to every 30 mins. Bristol – Well onlys”

It had never occurred to me before that you could get sign-writing wrong and get away with it.

3. Signage in Somerset

I have no explanation for this.

2 Comments

  1. Posted August 7, 2008 at 10:56 am | Permalink

    No wonder the barber shop is closed 🙂

  2. Posted September 9, 2008 at 12:21 am | Permalink

    That’s fantastic. I love it. I want them to cut my hair.