Sketchnotes from dConstruct 2008

dConstruct sketchnotes

A handful of us went down to Brighton about a month ago (wow, I’m really doing well with those timely posts) for this year’s dConstruct. For those what don’t know, dConstruct is a very awesome design conference aimed at web people, organised by those charming fellows at ClearLeft (who do loads of stuff, but most recently came out with Silverback, a rather neat little usability testing application).

After seeing Phil and Paul get into sketchnotes at previous conferences, I thought I’d have a go myself. Here’s my flickr set of the results.

dConstruct08 on the web:

dConstruct08 on Flickr
dConstruct08 on Slideshare

3 Comments

  1. Posted October 20, 2008 at 11:51 pm | Permalink

    Jay, I love ’em man! Great to see you trying out this technique yourself. Did you find the notes were richer than plain text after the fact?

    Cheers!

    Mike

  2. Posted October 21, 2008 at 12:49 pm | Permalink

    @mike, oh yes certainly! I can never be bothered to read notes, whereas looking at images is so much more pleasent.

    It particularly shows the most important things, as you tend to draw them big…

  3. Posted November 26, 2008 at 5:57 am | Permalink

    Jay, I hope you’re able to keep working the system. It’s a fun way to capture ideas!