This is not an…

Tomorrow is Osmosoft’s 2nd birthday.

Today I’m handing in my resignation: this is it. In just over four weeks, I’ll be working for myself. In a recession? Yeah.

I think it’s a fair assumption that I’ll take on some freelance work to pay the bills, but hey, everyone like’s to dream, so here’s the plan:

I want to help independent, creative people use technology, particularly the web, to expand their market or make their company more efficient. They could be a t-shirt seller in a market, an independent pub-owner, or even run a magazine. It’s a pretty broad definition, but the people I’m thinking of are doing what they’re doing because of both the aesthetic of the thing and because they love it.

I think people like this share a couple of characteristics:

  • they are under a lot of pressure to grow their company and make it a success, so they are unlikely to have the time to figure out how to use technology to their advantage;
  • they don’t have a lot of capital hanging around to pay for consultants to help them out

I can empathize with this second point, as it’s exactly the position I find myself in now, so I’ve decided on doing things like this: I don’t want to charge people big fees, I want to be a part of their success. This means I’d do something like take a part of whatever increase in profits I can help them make. Which means I need to measure them, but I think that’s a pretty cool thing anyway.

But, like I said, I’ve got to sort out how to pay those regular bills first. So… if you fancy paying me for anything you see me writing about on this blog, please get in touch!

10 Comments

  1. Posted May 20, 2009 at 8:38 pm | Permalink

    That’s a bold step Jon – well done! Good luck with it 🙂

  2. Posted May 20, 2009 at 9:09 pm | Permalink

    I think the next couple of months will be very interesting, I would say goodbye but… well, you know I’ll still be around 🙂

  3. Posted May 20, 2009 at 10:57 pm | Permalink

    @james thanks a lot!

    @benjam hoping for “good” interesting… 🙂

  4. Posted May 21, 2009 at 3:48 am | Permalink

    Congrats on the big moves Jon! Best of luck on the new adventures ahead and definitely don’t hesitate to drop a line if you ever want to come back to the mothership ;-).

    James

  5. Posted May 21, 2009 at 5:51 am | Permalink

    Wow,bold step; but then, dod anyone expect anything else. Good luck for the future!

  6. Posted May 21, 2009 at 9:10 am | Permalink

    Wow.

    This is an exciting step, Jon. I know that you’ll be missed at Osmosoft Towers.

    Good luck with your new venture. Keep us posted on the growth of your empire!

    P

  7. Posted May 21, 2009 at 9:16 am | Permalink

    good luck.

    Alex

  8. Posted May 26, 2009 at 12:40 am | Permalink

    Yeah. Gonna be fun. You might have to kick the premium coffee habits. Love.x

  9. Posted May 26, 2009 at 12:42 am | Permalink

    The revolution is a steamroller or a cocktail stick. It’ll turn out great, or it’ll turn out shit. I’m with you.

  10. Ian Crowther
    Posted June 22, 2009 at 6:21 pm | Permalink

    Great Stuff Jon! I’m sure the risk will pay off. enjoy.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] and why leaving is the best thing I can do for BT I announced my intention to leave Osmosoft in a blog post just over a month ago, and it became real this week. When I posted my resignation, it was all about […]